The website of the historical fiction writer.

Brits Abroad

This morning I did the whole setting up of my computer for the writing day: 1) Check Facebook, 2) Check e-mails, 3) Check Twitter (not many tweets to catch up on) Then I got on with today’s Five Hundred (not to be confused with the film/graphic novel 300). I’ve found keeping Twitter open while writing can be both a good and a bad thing. It’s good because I can keep an eye on what’s going on in the world but it’s bad as I’m switching between windows when I should be getting on with my work. Still I managed to double yesterday’s output and got 1266 words out. Not bad for a morning’s work.

One of the stories that appeared on the Twittervine was about two British boxers getting arrested and being detained for having a scrap. Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t what boxers are paid to do? Earn their daily bread by punching other boxers? What’s next – artists being done for vandalising a perfectly good canvas? Demolition firms getting into trouble for destroying property? Librarians accused of extorition when they charge fines?

Oh. They weren’t actually having a match. It was an actual scrap…

One response

  1. Writers defacing Word documents would be my bet, mate.

    22/02/2012 at 4:06 pm

Leave a Reply

