The website of the historical fiction writer.

Temptations, Distractions and Other Bad Habits

Buonjourno a tutti!

Yes, I’m writing in Italian as the weather reminds me of when I went to Firenze in Easter 2007. A fantastic place. One of the cradles of the Renaissance, now a living museum where modernity has to fit in with history, not the other way around as you see in most cities nowadays. Mind you, war has something to do with that.

Anyway, I know it’s been a while since my last posting and I see my viewing count has dropped off alarmingly, hence the title for this post. Anyone looking for anything rude might find this. See, it’s all in the marketing. Perhaps the next post should be ‘Winning Lottery Numbers’, ‘Euro 2012’, ‘The Queen’, ‘Olympics,’ or ‘The Way this Economic Mess is Being Handled is a Load of <INSERT FAVOURITE RUDE WORD HERE> So that’s one bad habit but I do have an excuse: work has been very busy, I finished Script Frenzy, I have been entering a truckload of competitions and, of course, the novel.

Now, the novel is very nearly finished (or at least the first draft is) and hopefully it’ll be finished next month before the Winchester Writers’ Conference. I will be there and also the Historical Novel Society Conference in September. I went out yesterday to get some suitable clobber for the occasions and am compiling a list of books to read before I go.

This will, as you can guess, require a bit of multi-tasking so I’m practicing now. While writing this post I’ve been listening to a Radio 4 play, The Grudge by James Graham. A very good story about the assassination of British Prime Minister, Spencer Percival in 1812.

Over the last two weeks I watched the Kill Bill films, looked around the Japanese Collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum and wrote some haiku. Now I want to visit Japan but can’t afford it so I’ll just have to play Age of Empires III: The Asian Dynasties.

Now if computer games aren’t a bad habit for writers I don’t know what is.

3 responses

  1. Good work, keeping busy I see and fluent in Italian! Although Prego! usually does everything you need in Italy! Interesting stuff about the medium’s of various research tools for writing. I’m reading loads at the moment, but always looking to branch off and vary my research through TV, movies and physical stuff like travelling, nice post mate.

    31/05/2012 at 3:24 pm

    • Cheers mate, although I wouldn’t say fluent as such! One of the good things about our course was how writing is influencial in other art forms such as cinema and travel, etc. How’s the Badger these days?

      31/05/2012 at 6:42 pm

      • Yeah, I suppose it’s all linked in to our old friend the Zeitgeist! LOL! The Badger is currently working with Weasel to determine where his wife Belinda is and who killed his cousin, Brock! Whilst planning next week’s interview of course 😉

        31/05/2012 at 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

