The website of the historical fiction writer.

Travelling Light

Last Saturday I went to London to see a play called Travelling Light at the National Theatre, a play about silent films in Eastern Europe. And as you may remember from this post (https://jamesbicheno.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/a-kind-of-magic/) I like silent films. Quite an interesting subject matter for the play as it was widely thought (and feared) that theatre would die out when moving pictures left the circus and made their way into the mainstream along with new gimmiks as the technology improved such as colour, sound and special effects. The production was very good with the films they made projected above the stage. It seemed they used cameras and equipment from the time as the films look as if they were made at the beginning of the last century. http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/68375/productions/travelling-light.html

Now, I’ve got a bit of a dilemma. As you know I’m going to some conferences and have a truckload of books to read. Now, when I’ve been to talks and book-signings before I’ve always had a chat with the author, bought the book as a matter of courtesy and got it signed. However, my bookcase is jam-packed with books and, despite a clear-out that would impress a bunch of book-burning extremists, I’m still overrun. Therefore I bought a Kindle last year which has been very good. But here’s a question, if I go to a talk, signing or whatever, is it alright to buy the electronic book and ask the author to sign the ticket. I personally wouldn’t mind as someone has bought a copy of my book but I don’t think I’d be too popular if I planted my signature over their tablet…

Anyway, what advice would you give, fellow readers and scribblers?

3 responses

  1. I think I’d be delighted to sign anything apart from a personal cheque. I believe that there is a way to autograph ebooks but can’t recall it this late in the evening. I’ll check it out.

    07/06/2012 at 8:44 pm

  2. Thank you for your comment. Did you mean this: http://www.kindlegraph.com/about I ordered the print book in the end and I hope it will be arriving soon! They’re good to have on the bookshelf to show off to people but I’m sure autographs on e-books will become commonplace in the not too distant future.

    18/06/2012 at 10:29 pm

  3. Hi James, thanks for following my blog. Yes, I think it is the Kindlegraph although I can’t seem to get into the site. More investigations will follow after breakfast.

    19/06/2012 at 5:09 am

Leave a Reply

