The website of the historical fiction writer.

Read Through History – June

Alright, I couldn’t think of a witty enough pun for this month.

1) Wounds of Honour by Anthony Riches. Started this in late May and finished in June.

2) Luck of the Devil by Ian Kershaw. Another non-fiction about Operation Valkyrie.

3) Utopia by Sir Thomas More. Read this as a good friend of mine recommended it. Reminded me of reading Other Worlds by Cyrano de Bergerac when I was writing an essay for the MA.

4) The Chase by Lorna Fergusson. Recently republished I read it for one of my one-to-ones and got it signed.

5) Sharpe’s Prey. As you can see I had a bit of catching up to do with the Sharpe’s. This one features Lieutenant Richard Sharpe on an expedition to Denmark. Part spy thriller, part military book. A bit like Sharpe’s Tiger in a way.

6) Sharpe’s Rifles. Read this on the way to Liverpool. Much better than the TV programme, which isn’t bad itself.

7) The Plot Against America by Philip Roth. An alternative history that was in the list much later on but I read it in June as it came up for my book club and it was my choice.

 

Leave a Reply

