The website of the historical fiction writer.

Read Through History: August

This month not only saw the publication of my first book but also me entering another decade (no, I am not forty). Therefore, much of this month was taken up with reading books on self-publishing and lots of stuff about how to be self employed.

Anyway, here’s how August went:

1) Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton. Twenty years after the film was made I felt it was time to read the book. It’s very different. It doesn’t have the bit where the lawyer gets snatched off the toilet by a Tyrannosaurus for a start.

2) Rogue Trader by Nick Leeson. The saying goes that those who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it. This should be essential reading for anyone planning to become a City trader.

3) Sharpe’s Eagle by Bernard Cornwell. This is where it all began for Mr Cornwell in 1981.

4) Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. I’d never read anything by one of Portsmouth’s most famous living writer but, as I was seeing a talk with him at the Guildhall, I thought it best I make a start. Very good, too. I’ve put the TV series on my LoveFilm list.

5) Legionary by Gordon Doherty. 376 Back to the list! This is set in the Eastern side of the Roman Empire (later the Byzantine Empire) after it was divided in two to make it more manageable. This is a great book and well worth reading. http://www.gordondoherty.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

