The website of the historical fiction writer.

NaNoWriMo 2013

(Thought I’d published this… oh well, better late than never…)

Just in case you were wondering where I’d gone for the past month I was up to my eyes becoming one of these:

2013-Winner-Facebook-Cover

For those of you that have not seen or heard of this, it is a challenge to write fifty thousand words (50,000 words) in the thirty months of November, which works out at about 1667 words a day (or 1700 as I aimed for).

Is this a good thing to do? I have read of some people who can write twice this amount each day but they don’t always have to write with a full-time job too. It’s also a good way of getting ideas down quickly.

It’s not recommended if you have loads to do, you are of a lazy disposition, suffer easily from repetitive strain injury or are at risk from stress-related hair loss.

Still, I found it worthwhile (all being well you might get to read the results of my attempts sometime towards the end of 2014). Give it a go yourself and see what you think. And treat yourself to a t-shirt. There’s some nifty stuff in their store: https://store.nanowrimo.org/merchandise

Leave a Reply

