The website of the historical fiction writer.

Read Through History August 2014

This month I have been designing the cover for Because it was Christmas, my new novella due out sometime this autumn (but certainly before Christmas, all being well!) Once that’s done I’ll put it on here for an advanced viewing. I have also finished the second draft for The Lenin Plots (that Russian Revolution book I’ve been telling you about) and am now carrying on with the alternative history. Hopefully the draft for that will be over by Christmas. Mind you, a hundred years ago the same thing was said about the First World War.

Anyway, while all that was going on, here’s what I’ve been reading:

1) A Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters. I remember watching the Cadfael series when I was young and I finally got round to reading about the detective monk. Very good and I’m now tempted to watch the series again.

2) The Fifth Knight by E. M. Powell. Set in the immediate aftermath of the murder of Thomas Beckett. This is a very exciting tale and I’m really looking forward to reading the next installment.

3) The Historical Novel by Jerome De Groot. A bit of non-fiction to learn the history of the historical novel and the genres within the genre. Very interesting.

4) Sharpe’s Waterloo. Richard Sharpe plays a major part in the famous battle which was fought two hundred years ago next year. Later this year Bernard Cornwell publishes his first non-fiction work about the battle.

5) War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells. A break from historical fiction. I listened to the Jeff Wayne album the other week and decided to finally read the book.

6) The Templar’s Apprentice by Peter Tolladay. We now enter the Crusades era and meet characters such as Baldwin of Jerusalem, whose story is taken up by the first book in next month’s installment!

7) The Rise of Robin Hood by Angus Donald. A short story set before the first novel in the Outlaw series. Read Outlaw, it is brilliant!

Drop by again over the next couple of weeks as I will be on my travels!

Leave a Reply

