The website of the historical fiction writer.

Read Through History (and Back Again): December 2014

Happy New Year one and all!

Well, 2014 shot by very quick. I’m still writing the year down as 2013. Has the World Cup started yet? I’ve not even finished writing last years’ Christmas Cards!

Anyroad, here’s what reading I crammed in over the Yuletide Revelries:

1) The Empty Throne by Bernard Cornwell. The latest in the Saxon Stories that someone from the Day Job kindly lent me.

2) Knights of the Cross by Steven A. McKay. A spin-off novella from the Forest Lord series. A very good read and I’m much looking forward to reading Steven’s debut novel Wolf’s Head.

3) Kingdom by Robyn Young. This was a signed copy from the Historical Novel Conference. The concluding part of the Robert Bruce Trilogy which I enjoyed very much.

4) The Iron King by Maurice Druon. I can see how George R. R. Martin was inspired to write Game of Thrones after reading this. This puts in interesting perspective on the buildup to the Hundred Years War as I only really know about it from the English point of view so it was good to read from the French side.

5) Time and Time Again by Ben Elton. This was a Christmas present and I read it in two days. I can recommend this book very much. I don’t normally read time travelling alternative history but I might give it a chance after this. Very interesting with a couple of clever twists.

Leave a Reply

