The website of the historical fiction writer.

Read Through History: July 2015

Afternoon. This month has been busy but I’ve got some reading in, although there have been deviations from the historical fiction path, but it’s good to try other things from time to time.

1) Blood Feud by Rosemary Sutcliff. This was lent to me by a colleague and I knew, after enjoying Eagle of the Ninth, I would like this too. I was not disappointed. It was also nice to read something about the Norsemen again.

2) Lord of Misrule by Christopher Lee. As one of Britain’s finest ever actors passed away a few weeks ago, I thought it was time to read his autobiography. He certainly led a very full and interesting life.

3) The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I thought it was about time I read this classic book and it’s one of his finest. I look forward to seeing some of the films that were adapted from it.

4) SS-GB by Len Deighton. Another alternative history about the Nazis winning the Second World War. Worth reading and I look forward to seeing the upcoming dramatisation (speaking of which, when is the rest of Man in the High Castle going to appear?)

5) The Boleyn King by Laura Andersen. Another alternative history where the son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn lives and succeeds his father as King Henry IX. Very interesting, especially the politics side.

6) Back Story by David Mitchell. I fancied a change and chose another autobiography from my bookshelf. Very funny as you would expect from the Peep Show star.

Leave a Reply

