The website of the historical fiction writer.

Read Through History: August 2015

What has summer been like where you are? Mind you, there are some parts of the world where summer hasn’t arrived yet but I bet it’s still warmer than it’s been here sometimes this month! Still, there have been some nice days and it could be worse…

Anyhow, I would say here’s what historical fiction has been taken from (and returned to) the Local Library but there’s a few other gems here:

  • Tales of the Unexpected by Roald Dahl. I can’t remember the last time I read one of his books but I thought I’d try these after them being recommended. Very clever.
  • Centurion and Assassin by Ian Corey. Back to the Romans where a Praetorian Centurion has to investigate an attack on the Imperial Family. Well worth a read.
  • Tenacity by J. S. Law. I went to the launch of this book at the Submarine Museum in Gosport. A good night all round and I can recommend this thriller set on a nuclear submarine.
  • The Tudor Secret by Christopher Gortner. A thrilling mystery set during the last days of Edward VI.
  • Bones of Avalon by Phil Rickman. I’ve not yet finished this but I’m enjoying it very much. The dialogue, in particular, is very authentic.

So that’s this month and… it’s stopped raining! Right, time to go to the shops! Happy Bank Holiday, everyone.

Leave a Reply

